22.9 C
Wednesday, September 30, 2020

2020 Golden Boy Award: Kudus dropped; Alphonso Davies, Haaland make top 40


PHOTOS: Bawumia, NPP Executives console Rawlings

The Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia has led a delegation from the ruling party, New Patriotic Party (NPP) to...

62% of Ghanaians will vote for Mahama if elections were held today, poll reveals

If elections were to be held today, former President John Mahama would have garnered the most votes, according to...

Contempt case: Angry Judge SUMMONS Ken Agyapong’s Doctor

The Medical Doctor who issued an excuse letter for Assin Central Member of Parliament (MP) in the ongoing contempt...
Stephen Owura Kissi
Journalism has been my prior job during childhood. With all things been so good for me, I am able to achieve my aim and fulfill the promise I made to my family. I am now a renowned sports journalist working with Ghana News Page.

Black Stars and Ajax Amsterdam player, Mohammed Kudus has been dropped from the latest shortlist for the 2020 Golden Boy Award.

The 20-year-old was shortlisted twice for the prestigious award, making in the top 100, and top 80 lists but has now been dropped as the numbers have been slashed to 40.

The list includes Borussia Dortmund duo, Erling Braut Haaland and Jadon Sancho, Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Chelsea’s Callum Hudson-Odoi, among other top names.

Italian newspaper, Tuttosport came up with the award in 2003 to reward the best young player (under the age of 21) in Europe.

Dutchman Rafael van der Vaart was the first winner 17 years ago and the former Tottenham Hotspur man was followed by Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Cesc Fabregas and Sergio Aguero.

In recent times, Paul Pogba, Raheem Sterling, Kylian Mbappe and Matthijs de Ligt have all won the award.

Below is the list of the players who made the list:

Marley Ake (Marseille), Adil Aouchiche (PSG), Benoît Badiashile (Monaco), Mitchel Bakker (PSG), Myron Boadu (AZ), Eduardo Camavinga (Rennes), Rayan Cherki (Lyon), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Sergino Dest (Ajax), Sebastiano Esposito (Inter Milan)

Ansu Fati (FC Barcelona), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Amine Gouiri (Lyon), Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Mohamed Amine Ihattaren (PSV), Ozan Muhammed Kabak (Schalke 04), Dejan Kulusevski (Parma, Juventus)

Tanguy Kouassi (PSG, Bayern Munich), Fábio Silva (FC Porto), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Dominik Szoboszlai (RB Salzburg), Tomás Tavarez (Benfica), Sandro Tonali (Brescia), Ferrán Torres (Valencia FC), Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid), Jonathan David (La Gantoise)

Tomas Esteves (FC Porto), Neco Williams (Liverpool), Rafael Camacho (Sporting CP), Marcos Antonio Marin (Dinamo Zagreb), Michael Karbownik (Legia Warsaw), Silva Rodrygo Goes (Real Madrid), Christos Tzolis (PAOK), Vladyslav Supriaha (FC Dynamo Kyiv), Dennis Borkowski (RB Leipzig), Marco Carnesecchi (Trapani, Atalanta)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

%d bloggers like this: