28.5 C
Friday, October 30, 2020

45TH MTN SWAG Awards: ‘A beauty, simplicity and innovation’


Asante Kotoko confirms the registration of 27 players ahead of 2020/21 season

Coach Maxwell Konadu has authorized the registration of twenty-seven (27) players for their 2020/21 season's campaign. Ghana Premier League heavyweights...

PHOTOS]: ‘Use your energies and time wisely for the development of the country’ – Sports Minister cautions the youth ahead of elections

The Youth and Sports Minister, Isaac Kwame Asiamah has urged the youth of the country to use their energies...

‘I am ready to accept Hearts of Oak’s assistant coach role’ – Amankwah Mireku

Former skipper for Accra Hearts of Oak, Yaw Amankwah Mireku says he is ever ready to take the assistant...
Stephen Owura Kissi
Journalism has been my prior job during childhood. With all things been so good for me, I am able to achieve my aim and fulfill the promise I made to my family. I am now a renowned sports journalist working with Ghana News Page.

The 45th MTN SWAG Awards was held on Saturday at the Alisa Hotel in Accra, coupled with beauty, simplicity and innovation.

The 1 hour television produced event was aptly simple as only 10 categories of the 2019 sports performers mounted the podium to receive their respective awards.

The other 17 earlier in the month were at special events decorated with their awards and citations which received heavy media mileage.

Top guests at the event included Supreme Court Judge Justice Tanko Amadu who represented the Chief Justice, Sports Minister Isaac Kwame Asiamah, CEO of MTN Mr. Selorm Adadevor, CEO of Ghana Gas Dr. B J Asante, Chief Patron H. E Amarkai Armarteyfio, top officials from Exim Bank, Goil and Startimes TV.

List of Winners below:

Hockey Player of the Year (Male) – Ernest Opoku.
Female Hockey Player of the Year (Female) – Elizabeth Opoku.

Athlete of the Year (Male) – Joseph Paul Amoah.
Athlete of the Year (Female) – Rose Amoanimaa Yeboah.

Coach of the Year (weightlifting) – Nii Otoo Larkyne.

Professional Boxer of the Year – Richard Commey.

Prospect of the Year – Rose Amoanimaa Yeboah.

Amateur Boxer of the Year – Shakur Samed.

Armwrestler of the Year (Male) – Derrick Kwakye.
Armwrestler of the Year (Female) – Grace Mintah.

Taekwondo Athletes of the Year – Henrietta Armah and Benson Adom Addo.

Footballer of the Year (Female) – Elizabeth Addo.
Footballer of the Year – Jordan Ayew.

Footballer of the Year (Local) – Felix Annan.

Sports Personality of the Year – Para Athlete, Raphael Botsyo Nkegbe.

SWAG Top Three Federations of The Year – Ghana Athletics, Ghana Armwrestling, Ghana Weightlifting.

The 45th MTN SWAG Awards produced by Perception Management International was live on Startimes TV, Adepa TV, Max TV, Kessben TV and others.

SWAG Awards, the longest running award scheme in Ghana rewards top performing Sports men and Women over the year, and recognises the efforts of persons involved in Sports development.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

%d bloggers like this: