Boakye Agyarko declares war on NDC

    Boakye Agyarko, former Energy Minister, says the New Patriotic Party (NPP) will win all the four seats in the Krobo area in the 2020 general elections.

    According to the politician, NPP would snatch all the Krobo seats from the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) to help the party consolidate power to successfully implement social interventions for Ghanaians.

    - Advertisement -Photo of the Remarkables mountain range in Queenstown, New Zealand.

    Mr. Agyarko, who addressed the media on the sidelines of a meeting with newly-elected members of the Lower Manya Krobo Municipal Assembly, disclosed that he had commenced a multifaceted plan to counter the NDC’s monopoly in the Krobo area from 2020.

    The former Energy Minister said, “My duty for assuming responsibility for the Krobo bloc is not to be in a beauty contest; it’s to win seats. My target is that we need to bag all the four seats into the corner of NPP.”

    In the 2016 elections the NPP made history by capturing the Upper Manya Krobo Constituency seat from the National Democratic Congress (NDC), which holds Asuogyaman, Lower Manya Krobo and Yilo Krobo seats.

    Joseph Tetteh, aka Joe Tee, incumbent NPP MP, managed to snatch the seat from Jeff Tetteh Kavianu of NDC with 13,920 votes as against 10,544 votes.

    The former energy minister declared his intention to help the NPP snatch all the seats in the next election, including the Asuogyaman seat.

    In the 2016 elections, the Lower Manya Krobo seat won by the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) NDC Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi with 19,710 votes as against 19,383 votes for the NPP candidate, Samuel Ayertey Nuertey.

    The ruling party rejected the results and requested for recount of the ballot.

    Magnus Kofi Amoatey of the NDC also won the Yilo Krobo Constituency by beating the NPP candidate with 23,487 votes as against 15,976 votes.

    Since 1992, the NDC has captured all the parliamentary seats in the Krobo area in the Eastern Region.

    Currently, out of the total 33 constituencies in the region, NDC has six, with the ruling party holding 27 seats.

    Source: Daily Guide


    - Advertisement -spot_img


    %d bloggers like this: