Golden Boy award: Davies, Sancho, Haaland highlight 20 finalists

    The 2020 Golden Boy Awards list has been whittled down to 20.


    100 of the most exciting youngsters in the game were in contention when the first list was published back in June with Ghana’s Mohammed Kudus making it up to the last 80.

    The latest list features 20 players, including Borussia Dortmund duo, Erling Braut Haaland and Jadon Sancho, AC Milan’s Sandro Tonali, and Chelsea’s Callum Hudson-Odoi, among other top names.

    Italian newspaper, Tuttosport came up with the award in 2003 to reward the best young player (under the age of 21) in Europe.

    Dutchman Rafael van der Vaart was the first winner 17 years ago and the former Tottenham Hotspur man was followed by Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Cesc Fabregas and Sergio Aguero.

    In recent times, Paul Pogba, Raheem Sterling, Kylian Mbappe and Matthijs de Ligt have all won the award.

    Here is the top 20 in full:

    Mitchel Bakker (PSG), Eduardo Camavinga (Rennes), Jonathan David (Lille), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Sergiño Dest (Barcelona), Fabio Silva (Wolves), Ansu Fati (Barcelona), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United).

    Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Deyan Kulusevski (Juventus), Rodrygo (Real Madrid), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Dominik Szoboszlai (Red Bull Salzburg), Sandro Tonali (Brescia), Ferran Torres (Manchester City), Vinicius (Real Madrid).

    - Advertisement -spot_img


    - Advertisement -spot_img


    %d bloggers like this: