26.8 C
Monday, October 26, 2020

Jamie Vardy wins Premier League Golden Boot


Akyem Batabi: Woman rescued from collapsed church building (VIDEO)

Another worshipper has been rescued from the collapsed church building at Akyem Batabi in the Eastern Region of Ghana. According...

Know your coaches for 2020/21 GPL Season: Profile – Berekum Chelsea coach Hesse Odamten

Michael Hesse Odamten is the head coach of Berekum Chelsea for the 2020/21 Ghana Premier League season which kicks...

Man quits NDC because he wants to go to heaven

A member of the opposition National Democratic Congress has quit the party simply because he will not go to...
Stephen Owura Kissi
Journalism has been my prior job during childhood. With all things been so good for me, I am able to achieve my aim and fulfill the promise I made to my family. I am now a renowned sports journalist working with Ghana News Page.

Leicester City striker Jamie Vardy has won the Premier League Golden Boot for the first time in his career after finishing the season with 23 goals to his name.

Vardy – who came within a single goal of claiming the award back in 2015/16 – drew a blank in the Foxes’ 2-0 defeat to Manchester United at the King Power Stadium on Sunday afternoon to end the campaign one ahead of Danny Ings and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – who both scored on the final day – in the goalscoring charts.

“I’m delighted, but it’s all about the team,” Vardy told Sky Sports after picking up his award. “I wouldn’t have been in the position l am with the goals if it wasn’t for them and luckily I’ve put a few of them away.

“I don’t feel my age. Touch wood, I’m not picking up many injuries and I’ll try to come back as strong as l can next year.”

Southampton forward Ings was on target with his 22nd strike of the season, and the first from the penalty spot, as his team overcame Sheffield United 3-1 at St Mary’s.

Danny Ings' 22nd league goal of the season was not enough to earn him a share of the Golden Boot

Meanwhile, Arsenal striker Aubameyang – who shared last season’s award along with Liverpool’s Sadio Mane having each scored 22 times – scored twice in the Gunners’ 3-2 win over Watford, which relegated the Hornets.

Mo Salah, who won the award in 2017/18, finished fourth with 19 goals, after drawing a blank in champions’ Liverpool’s 3-1 win at Newcastle where he appeared as a second-half substitute.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

%d bloggers like this: