The President, Nana Akufo-Addo, has submitted to Parliament the names of persons he wants to occupy the position of Ministers and Deputy Ministers for the newly created regions.

Speaker of Parliament, Mike Aaron Oquaye announced the names of the Ministers and their deputies in Parliament on Thursday, 28th February, 2019.

The names include:

Evelyn Ama Kumi Richardson – Bono Region

Kofi Amoakohene – Minister, Bono East Region

Mr Salifu Adam Braimah – Savannah Region

Aboagye Gyedu – Western North

Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah – Western Region

Kwesi Owusu Yeboah – Oti Region

Deputy Ministerial roles

Siaka Stevens, MP                              – Deputy Minister, Bono Region

Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere, MP       -Deputy Minister, Ahafo Region

Mr. Samuel Yeyu Tika                        -Deputy Minister, Savannah Region

Mr. Tahiru Tia Ahmed                       -Deputy Minister, North East Region

John Benam                                       -Deputy Minister, Northern Region

Alex Tetteh, MP                                -Deputy Minister, Western North Region

Mr. Johnson Avuletey                      -Deputy Minister, Volta Region

President Akufo-Addo earlier this month, presented the Constitutional Instrument on the creation of the six new regions when he hosted delegations of chiefs on February 12, 13 and 15 which officially increased the regions from 10 to 16.

Speaking at the ceremony to present Constitutional Instrument (C.I.) 113 for the creation of the regions at the Jubilee House, he named Nalerigu and Damongo as the capitals for North East and Savannah region respectively.

He also named Techiman as the capital of Bono East Region, Goaso as the capital for the Ahafo Region whiles Sefwi-Wiawso was named as the capital of the newly-created Western North Region.

The President named Dambai as the capital for the Oti Region.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo set up a Commission of Inquiry, headed by Justice S.A. Brobbey, to collate views and to make recommendations for carving out the new regions following petitions, he received from individuals across the country.

More to follow…