President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has named Goaso as the capital of the newly-created Ahafo Region.

Speaking at a ceremony to present Constitutional Instrument (C.I.) for the creation of the Bono East Region at the Jubilee House in Accra on Wednesday, 13 February 2019, Mr Akufo-Addo said: “Goaso has been chosen as the capital of the Ahafo Region.”

Nana Akufo-Addo, however, assured the people that the development of Ahafo Region will be spread across all the towns and villages.

Nana Akufo-Addo also named Brong Ahafo Regional Minister, Evans Opoku-Bobie as interim minister for the newly-created Ahafo Region until a substantive minister is appointed.

The creation of the Ahafo Region, together with five others, was a campaign promise of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) during the 2016 elections.

After the NPP won the polls, a Commission of Inquiry, headed by a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Justice Stephen Brobbey, was instituted to ensure the creation of the regions.

Accordingly, Oti, Bono East, Western North, Ahafo, Savannah, North East regions were created.

Source: ClassFM