Okudzeto Ablakwa RESIGNS from Parliament’s Appointment Committee

    The Member of Parliament (MP) for North Tongu in the Volta Region, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa has resigned as a Member of Parliament’s Appointments Committee.

    In a letter dated March 30, addressed to the Speaker, Alban Kingsford Bagbin, he explained that this was “after days of careful reflection and thoughtful considerations.

    It is not clear why the outspoken and meticulous member of the Committee who takes nominees especially through rigorous CV scrutiny is stepping down.

    “I shall like to state that the reasons for this difficult decision is both personal and on principle,” was all Mr Okudzeto Ablakwa alluded to in his letter.

    The former Deputy Education Minister said the Speaker must consider his resignation to take immediate effect.

    As a result, the North Tongu MP stressed that he will, therefore, not be available for the vetting of President Akufo-Addo’s nominees for Deputy ministerial positions.

    “May I extend to you leadership of the House, the Committee of Selection and the leadership of the great National Democratic Congress (NDC), my sincere gratitude for the opportunity to serve as a member of the 6th, 7th and 8th Parliaments of the Republic of Ghana,” concluded.

    The Speaker is reported to have requested for a meeting with Mr Okudzeto Ablakwa over his decision to leave the Appointments Committee.

    Saga of Minority MPs on Appointments Committee

    The NDC MPs on the Appointments Committee led by Ranking Member and Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu have been lauded for taking the first batch of President Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees through a no holds barred vetting process.

    The Minority MPs were at their probing best when nominees like the National Security Minister, Albert Kan Dapaah; Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Godfred Dame; Information Minister, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah; Communications Minister, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful; Fisheries Minister, Mavis Hawa Koomson; Lands Minister, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor among others appeared before them.

    There was scepticism by members of the Committee regarding some of the answers given by some nominees.

    The NDC MPs in a report explained reasons why they could not pass some nominees like the Information, Fisheries and Agric Ministers.

    Eventually, the said Ministers were passed after a vote on the Floor of Parliament.

    Many political analysts were shocked as some NDC MPs voted to approve the same nominees their representatives on the Committee had raised issues about.

    Angry members of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) flayed their members on the Appointments Committee as well as the leadership of the party in Parliament including the Speaker.



    %d bloggers like this: