22 C
Wednesday, September 30, 2020

PFA award could be scrapped this season


PHOTOS: Bawumia, NPP Executives console Rawlings

The Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia has led a delegation from the ruling party, New Patriotic Party (NPP) to...

62% of Ghanaians will vote for Mahama if elections were held today, poll reveals

If elections were to be held today, former President John Mahama would have garnered the most votes, according to...

Contempt case: Angry Judge SUMMONS Ken Agyapong’s Doctor

The Medical Doctor who issued an excuse letter for Assin Central Member of Parliament (MP) in the ongoing contempt...
Stephen Owura Kissi
Journalism has been my prior job during childhood. With all things been so good for me, I am able to achieve my aim and fulfill the promise I made to my family. I am now a renowned sports journalist working with Ghana News Page.

The Ballon d’Or may not be the only individual award to be shelved this year, with sources telling ESPN that the Professional Footballers’ Association has yet to decide whether to hold a vote for the 2019-20 PFA Players’ Player of the Year.

English football’s longest-standing award — the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year — which dates back to 1947-48, was announced on Friday following a vote of members during July, with Jordan Henderson the winner.

However, the PFA have yet to send out ballot papers due to the season being disrupted by the coronavirus pandemic which led to English football being shutdown for three months from mid-March.

Liverpool players have won the last two awards, with Virgil van Dijk in 2019 and Mohamed Salah in 2018, but with the 2020-21 season due to start in mid-September, the PFA is still assessing whether to hold a vote or follow the route of France Football, who cancelled this year’s Ballon d’Or due to the disruption caused by coronavirus.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

%d bloggers like this: