PHOTOS: Angry traders weep, rain curses on Major Mahama’s ‘killers’ in court


    Some angry traders in the Accra Metropolis yesterday stormed the premises of the Accra Central Magistrate Court to catch a glimpse of the thirty four (34) persons who were sent there for allegedly killing an officer of the military.

    The angry traders who besieged the area to catch a glimpse of the suspects chanted and rained curses on the 34 suspects who had been arraigned before the court.

    Some also wept uncontrollably to show how sad they were concerning what they termed the ‘inhuman act’ meted out to the innocent army officer; others could not withhold their emotions but rained insults and curses on the suspects.

    Interestingly, some of the traders wished the police would give them the chance to whip the women allegedly involved for disgracing womanhood.

    The police escort had to quickly whisk the accused persons away to prevent any mayhem.

    As the vehicle carrying the accused persons was moving, they (traders) were heard shouting on top of their voices saying, “God will punish you people and your entire generation for the crime you have committed. We pray that you suffer all your life; it shall never be well with you…..”

    Some of the suspects were sent to the Dansoman, Nima, Ministries and other police stations to be kept in custody until the next sitting of the court.

    The thirty four suspects included six females whose names were given as Felicia Sarbah, Perpetual Owusu, Yaa Asor, Efia Manu, Vivian Asaahene and Anna Gyimah.

    One of them is said to be a nursing mother. The arrest of the thirty four brings to 41 the number of suspects put before court in connection with the lynching of the former Army Captain, who was posthumously promoted to Major by President Akufo-Addo yesterday.

    Seven people, including the assemblyman for Denkyira-Obuasi, had earlier been remanded by a district court in Cape Coast, the Central Regional capital.

    The males among the 34 suspects are George Brefo, Charles Bosie, Kofi Appiah, Emmanuel Gyamfi, Ebenezer Appiah, Philip Kofi Agyapong, Peter Agyapong, Komla Doku, Ernest Ally, Mawunyo Sowu, Kweku Nsiah, Dickson Agyeman, Patrick Boakye, Foster Sekpey, Freeman Sekpey and Charles Quainin.

    The others are Isaiah Manu, Prince Amponsah, Kojo Asabre, Kofi Ebenezer, Evans Fosu, Prince Fosu, Ato Kwame, John Nyarko Michael Anim, Emmanuel Sowu and Ahmed Suri.