Last year there was a clarification of the handball law at the AGM of IFAB. The rules were made clear that accidental handballs that lead to a teammate scoring a goal will be allowed.
That’s why Salisu’s goal stood yesterday despite Ayew’s handball.
Goals scored by a player immediately after the ball has touched their hand/arm, even if accidental will be disallowed.
So if Ayew had scored that backheel after it touched his hand, the goal wouldn’t have stood.
That’s what VAR wanted to confirm, whether Andre had the last touch.
As a result, Salisu became the first Ghana defender to ever score at a #FIFAWorldCup